AUS: 1300 630 488    NZ: 0800 1477 6287

Site Navigation

NEWSLETTER - March 2019 

President Geoff opened the March meeting at 9:30am, he welcomed Members, and Ladies  

Apologies: - were received from 17 members, Bernie Bailey, Lance Berryman, Dave Burton, Kevin Cummins, Peter Drinkwater, Sigi Ferchow, Colin Gale, Gary Gilligan, Philip Goodwin, Barry Hunt, John Keeffe, Bernie Klumper, Heinz Koblenz, John Mathers, Ian Mangelsdorf, John Tobin, Bill Traynor.  

Treasurer’s Report: - Gordon’s report for February, the opening balance was $4,550.80. The month’s income and expenditure left an end of month balance of $6,743.38. Committed funds for activities totalled $1,441.00, leaving an available balance of $5,302.38.   

Membership Report: - Jim advised that the attendance for the meeting numbered 33 member and 23 ladies. Thirty-three members equates to 57% of membership 
Speaker’s Report: - Neville Stephenson was not at the meeting. As mentioned in the February newsletter Neville is having a well earned rest.  In his absence President Geoff announced that the Guest speakers for April are Peter Barley and Vivien Shih, their presentation is on Noel Coward’s music and letters.  

 Activities Report: - Daryl reported the following functions:

COFFEE MORNING 20th March 10AM 91 Junction St. Nowra Cost $9.00pp. Please pay by the March Meeting. 

NOWRA PLAYERS Bomaderry show “So Much to Tell You” by John Marsden on the 21st March at 8PM, Cost $25pp. 

MORNING MELODIES – Fri 5th April, Bomaderry Bowling Club Shoalhaven Probus has tables One and Six booked, however it is necessary for those attending to book and pay at the club priorto the event. “HEATHER AND SHAMROCKS” Doors open at 10 am.  Show goes to 12.30 pm Tickets $10pp. This includes morning tea 

TOURISTS IN SYDNEY is for 7 days, in on the 31st March out on the 7th April. Eleven members have paid. 

Itinerary:  Day 1. Sun 31st Mar happy hour own meals 2.

Mon 1st 10am Tour Capital Theatre $30.50, may be yum   cha lunch.

Tue 2nd Apr 1030am State Library, lunch Sloanes’ son   restaurant $35.00. 

Wed 3rd Apr Tour Botanical Garden cost $16.50 5.

4th Apr Lunch Doyles

Fri 5th Apr 1145am tour Government House, ID to be filled in before hand with Daryl.

Sat 6th Apr Some going to theatre, others doing something else.

Sun 7th Apr Home. 

The Annual Sports Day at Callala Beach Sports Club: - organised by Nowra Probus is on Monday 29th April 0830am, cost. $10pp, Bowls $15pp, Golf $16pp all includes luncheon. BYO plates & cutlery, chairs and tables 

Dinner at the Destiny Restaurant (Bomaderry TAFE) on Friday the 3rd May commencing at 11:30am. The cost is $15 pp for a two course meal. Pay by the April meeting, 30 places have been booked. 

EXPRESSION OF INTEREST Nowra Entertainment Centre on Sunday 9th June at 2PM, “AN AFTERNOON AT THE PROMS” Cost concession is $66 pp a group booking of 8 or more $64 pp  


The Club speaker today was Geoff Spencer: - Geoff presented an audio visual presentation which he had produced titled “The Blue Bird of Happiness” dedicated to his wife Lynette in appreciation for her sacrifices, love and support throughout their married life. 

Next Meeting: is the General Meeting and will be held on Monday 8th April , at 9:30am at the Bomaderry Bowling Club. The committee extends an open invitation for ladies to attend this and any meetings throughout the year.  Morning Tea Roster: - Ralph Tankard, Darryl Thompson, John Tobin. If you are not available on, please arrange a replacement and advise Daryl Roth, on 44 216 775

Annual General Meeting followed the General Meeting commencing at 11.30am, chaired by President Geoff Webb. Minutes of the 2018 Annual General Meeting were read and confirmed. Business Arising:   Nil The Annual Report for the year 2018/2019 having been circulated prior to the meeting was taken as read and it was resolved that the individual reports contained therein be received and accepted. Elections: Geoff Webb vacated the Chair and Arnold Parrott (Public Officer), in his role as Returning Officer, announced that there was no necessity for a formal vote with 11 nomineesfor a 12 man committee. The committee for the year 2018/2019 is declared as follows:  President Gordon Elford Secretary Allan Sloane Treasurer Gordon Elford Assistant Treasurer Jim Carroll Senior Vice President Ed Jolly Junior Vice President Terry Wright Membership Jim Reid Speaker Coordinator Vacant Newsletter Mike Miezio Caring Terry Wright Activities Daryl Roth Committee John Knowles, Sigi Ferchow and Jim Carroll Past President Geoff Webb Public Officer, Arnold Parrott, confirmed the election of office bearers as above and extended congratulations and well wishes for a successful term to all. Arnold Parrott will retain the Public Officer and Protocol Officer positions. 

Site by Pantherabyte