AUS: 1300 630 488    NZ: 0800 1477 6287

The beginning: - the how, when and where

In the early months of 1996, six people who had been on the waiting list for another club for a very long time, asked Rotary if they could start another club. Permission was granted and a lunch was held at The Atrium in Dromana, to which a reporter from The Mornington Leader newspaper was invited, and an adviser from Beaumaris Rotary was also in attendance. 

Following this lunch, the Leader newspaper published a wonderful article which included a date and time for a meeting at which approximately fifty people attended. Again an approach was made to Rotary and having sufficient interested people, the first Committee was elected.

Peter Whitelaw was President, and Ria Neil was Vice President. However, after just three months, Peter Whitelaw resigned and Ria Neil took over as President. Other Committee members were Ian Frith (Secretary); Keith Harris (Treasurer); and General Committee members Don Sharp, Ken Ford, Sheila James-Beale; Sonia White and Ruth Jones.

The Inaugaural Meeting of the club was held on 2nd June 1996 at St. Marks Uniting Church Hall in Mornington. The first activity organised by the Committee was a "getting to know you" meal at a Chinese restaurant in Mount Eliza on 15th July 1996 and this was followed by a visit to Mirboo North Brewery and a 3 day trip to Marysville, both in August.

The Membership List issued in July 1996 lists 78 members, and Founding members who still attend club meetings and events are Jean Boundy, Lesley Chandler, Dorothy Harper, John Matthews, Lesley Matthews and Gwenda Wells.

In June 2016, the club celebrated its 20th Anniversary with a Special Meeting and lunch provided by and at The Mornington, Retirement Village, in Mornington-Tyabb Road, Mornington. A 20th Anniversary Commemmorative Booklet was produced highlighting events over the 20 year period.