AUS: 1300 630 488    NZ: 0800 1477 6287

History of Baulkham Hills Ladies Probus Club

The Baulkham Hills Rotary Club, through the local press, and The Hills District Men's Probus Club initially called for women who were interested in forming a Ladies Probus Club.

A formation meeting was convened on Wednesday May 10, 1989 by Mr Bob Lowe of Baulkham Hills Rotary. Intending members were welcomed to the meeting by Mr Kevin Faulks, President, Baulkham Hills Rotary and Mr Bill Jacobs, Probus Chairman of the Rotary District 966.  Mr Jacobs addressed the meeting, outlining the objectives of Probus Clubs.

Two members from Carlingford Ladies Probus Club, Gloria McDonald and Winsome Bradshaw were also present.

A resolution was passed to form Baulkham Hills Ladies Probus Club and a constitution was accepted.

The first year of member insurance was kindly donated by Baulkham Hills Rotary.

Six management committee members were elected at the inaugural meeting and 23 women joined.

The six members of the management committee were:
President:                                          Betty Walker
Vice President:                                  Stephanie Joss
Secretary:                                          Maureen Newberry
Treasurer:                                           Joyce Strong
Social Co-Ordinator:                         Gloria Anderson
Guest Speaker Co-Ordinator:         Anne Higgins

Monthly meetings were voted to be held on the third Wednesday of each month at 10am at The Hills District Bowling Club. Annual membership was set at $5 plus a $5 joining fee.